Gallery

No Game, no gain

Ι have to admit something: I haven’t seen The Game of Thrones yet, despite the fact that I like heroic fantasy and science fiction. I’ve even been known to “spin my own yarn” from time to time – something I used to do more often, and still do sometimes, mostly for my children.

So, when I read in the news that the producers of the series were considering Greek locations for the next season, I was thrilled. I’ve always believed that the Greek landscape’s amazing diversity has so many dramatic or picturesque spots, it is a treasure trove for film locations.

Besides, I knew that Greek locations (Meteora) had already been used as backdrop for some of the scenes of the series. What more natural than to film the series right here?

Tyrion_Lannister_Mord_Eyrie_Meteora_backdrop

Tyrion Lannister and his jailer, Mord, in a cell of the Eyrie. The backdrop is a photograph of Meteora. Image from here.

The same rocks, from a different angle.

The same rocks, without clouds on a spring day.

So you can imagine my disappointment when I read that this will never come true, due to the famous Greek bureaucracy providing who-knows-what glitches. This is not the first time such a thing happens, either.

It is such a shame to think that striking Greek spots remain in obscurity, when they deserve to shine. And it is a greater shame still that other locations get the publicity, tourism and revenue that Greece sorely needs, and could have, if not for a lack of policy (or motivation) by the Greek Ministry of Tourism.

But enough said. Let me show you a couple of images of Meteora first ….

meteora 04

??????????

??????????

… and Ikaria:

Small waterfall in Ikaria, Greece. From here.

Small waterfall in Ikaria, Greece. From here.

The Aegean sea as seen from a ridge in Ikaria, Greece. From here.

The Aegean sea as seen from a ridge in Ikaria, Greece. From here.

Icaria island. From here.

Icaria island. From here.

Leave a Reply

